User Access

Forum pinned ad
test
Information pinned ad
S-5! - Sidebar Ad - Snow Guard
Palisade - Sidebar Ad - Palisade Build On Trust
RClub pinned ad
Everroof - Sidebar Ad - Podcast Promo
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Coating over old PVC type membrane

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

GKRFG1

Hoping someone can give me some advise on what we might use to coat all or parts of a barrel roof that has some type of plastic roofing. We think it might be Sarnifel but there is nobody that knows. The membrane is about 30 years old so they have gotten their moneys worth out of it but they don't have the money to redo the roof. Its about 5000 square feet. The membrane has a fiberglass mesh that is exposed over large sections and the thin undercoat of plastic is starting to split and leaking. I have no experience with coatings on this type of roof and am looking for any advise I can get. Anybody willing to help?

January 15, 2021 at 3:06 a.m.

Pop Alexandra

@clvr83 the full story (in pictures) on the EPDM lap/Seam Tape Topic http://forum.rooferscoffeeshop.com/view_thread.asp?threadid=46030&forumid=8&pn= but basically some idiot had painted acrylic paint on the corners and the seams and I couldn't get it off, so although I redid the seams on the flat, I chose the easy option for the corners and seams on the upstands, and yeah a bit to do with cost for the customer, the labour to redo those corners would have been quite high, and I don't think they were causing any leaks anyway, so the Silcoat just a precaution.

-Vaa Fakaosifolau

Thanks for sharing. Quite interesting to see the process from begining to end. 

October 30, 2015 at 4:17 a.m.

Roofguy

October 28, 2015 at 6:10 p.m.

Roofguy

Here is the S-20 silicone going on over TPO. Notice it is nice and bright white and shiny. This TPO roof gets over 300,000 sq. ft. of silicone.

October 27, 2015 at 9:39 p.m.

Roofguy